Bothell budget workshop materials included a vehicle license fee estimate
In materials published ahead of the May 19, 2026 meeting, staff said a vehicle license fee could raise about $700,000 in its first year as part of a workshop on the 2027-2028 budget and 2027-2033 Capital Facilities Plan 1.
What the records say
In materials published ahead of the May 19, 2026 City Council meeting, staff were scheduled to present a budget workshop covering financial background, revenues, and updates to the Capital Facilities Plan to inform development of the 2027-2028 biennial budget and the 2027-2033 Capital Facilities Plan 1. No council action was required at the workshop; staff said they were seeking feedback 1. The materials also included a vehicle license fee estimate. If applied, Bothell could generate around $700,000 in the first year, based on registered vehicle owners in Bothell, excluding exemptions such as farm vehicles and mopeds 1. The record does not state a proposed fee amount or whether the council supported imposing it. Budget development was expected to continue over the following months and return to the City Council in the fall for feedback and direction 1. The available records do not establish the meeting's outcome.
- The May 19, 2026 workshop was scheduled to cover financial background, revenues, and Capital Facilities Plan updates for the 2027-2028 budget and 2027-2033 CFP; no action was required.
- The materials included a vehicle license fee estimate: if applied, it could generate around $700,000 in its first year, based on registered vehicle owners in Bothell and excluding exemptions such as farm vehicles and mopeds.
- Budget development was expected to return to the City Council in the fall for feedback and direction.
Why it matters
If applied, a vehicle license fee would be based on registered vehicle owners in Bothell, excluding exemptions such as farm vehicles and mopeds, and the workshop materials estimated about $700,000 in first-year revenue 1. The May 19 workshop was for feedback and no action was required; budget development was expected to return to the council in the fall 1.
What changed / what's next
- Staff materials ahead of the May 19, 2026 meeting included a vehicle license fee estimate of about $700,000 in first-year revenue if applied 1.
- The available records do not establish the meeting's outcome, and the record does not state a proposed fee rate or whether the council favored the fee; budget development was expected to return to the council in the fall 1.